HFOSS Weekly Blog Post

This week my team is focusing on making progress on our Sugar Activity. With only a month to go before graduation, this is one of many big projects I have on my hands, but I’m doing my best to allocate the necessary time to keep up with the project. My primary contributions at this point are getting together the art assets we need to have our visual elements to our activity. Wilfred is working on getting some base functionality to our activity, and Justin is focusing on our documentation (our sugar wiki and github page presentations for the most part). Once I have all our necessary art assets illustrated and digitized, I’ll be adding them to our github repo so that Wilfred can pull them into the game project and we can start to work on improving our visual interface!

A few weeks ago I finally got Fedora up and running on my PC at my apartment and I’ve been having a lot of fun working with the new operating system and tuning the environment to my liking. I’ve still got a long way to go before it’s just as I like it, but I’m getting happier and happier with Fedora as an OS every day. In the interest of helping to make this post useful to any new Fedora users who may stumble across it, I think I can speak a little bit on the functionality of DNF.

DNF is a package manager (see my older blog post here to learn about package managers) on Fedora that lets you easily download new software packages. The command to download a package is simply “dnf install <package name>” which worried me a bit, because what’s preventing someone from creating a malicious package called “foo” then advertising it as this new, hot, must-have software package? If you’re just blindly installing things with DNF you could wind up with some undesired programs. They’re easy enough to remove if they’re not intentionally malicious, BUT there’s a better way to head this problem off. DNF has two really useful commands that you can use to help determine what you’re downloading, and to help find new packages to download. “dnf info foo” will tell you a bunch of information about the software package named “foo.” This info is written and maintained by an official fedora contributor, not the package creator (to prevent a malicious coder from making the description “this package makes your computer run more good” or something that might bait someone into downloading it). Also, “dnf search <keyword>” will search for all software packages that fedora contributors have analyzed that include the keyword in the name or project description. This can be handy if you’re looking for image editing software, browser extensions, games or new desktop environment tools.

HFOSS Weekly Blog Post

Leave a Reply

